## Fleet 34 Stonington, Connecticut

Fishers Island Sound, 1965

## 2012 Officers

Commodore: Ted Parker Vice Commodore: Lisa Peringer Secretary-Treasurer: Gene Fiese Scorer: Rick Conley Newsletter Editors: many Webmaster: Walter Pratt

## 2011 Season Champions:

1<sup>st</sup> Ward Woodruff, NIGHTWIND - # 458 97 pts 2<sup>nd</sup> George Bates, BONANZA #385 95 pts

The 2011 Ensign Racing Season for Fleet 34 consisted of 13 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound hosted by five local yacht clubs. In addition, eleven boats from Fleet 34 participated in the 2011 Region II & III Ensign Championship hosted by Fleet 57, New London, Connecticut. George Bates in BONANZA finished second in this regatta consisting of 13 Ensigns.

Six members also participated in the 2011 Ensign National Regatta hosted by Fleet 23 in Canandaigua, New York. The top finisher from our fleet was Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC who finished 12<sup>th</sup> in this regatta of 44 Ensigns.

The Fleet 34 Early Series (June – July) averaged 6.4\_Ensign's per race. The Early Series was won by George Bates in BONANZA (86.5 pts) followed by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (85.6 pts) and Richard Foye in HIBERNIA (81.5). The Late Series (Aug. – Sept.) averaged 6.0 boats for each race and was won by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (92.4 pts) followed by George Bates in BONANZA (85.9 pts) and Mike Macina in FIREBIRD (77.8 pts).

Overall Fleet 34 averaged 6.2 Ensign's per race, down from 6.6 in 2010. A total of 17 different boats participated throughout the season the same as the previous year. Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (97.2 pts with throw-outs) won the Season Championship. Second place went to George Bates in BONANZA (94.8 pts). No one qualified for third place. Ayers Trophy for best in June went to George Bates. No one qualified for the Leuze Trophy for most improved.

Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND won the opening race of the season, the Bob Jones Trophy Race. NIGHTWIND also won the Fishers Island YC Regatta, the Thames Commodores Regatta and the last race of the season, the Bill Jones Memorial Around the Island Race. Rick Conley in FRIENDLY SPIRIT won the Maritime Regatta and TYC's Governors' Regatta. Mike Macina in FIREBIRD won the Mudhead Benefit Cup Regatta and the Masons Island Regatta. Seven Ensigns participated in the end of season Bill Jones Around Fishers Island Race which as hosted by Rick and Laura Conley and won by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND.

The Kyle Sheets Trophy for Outstanding Crew was awarded this year to John Diegmann long time crew on John Brousseau's Ensign GRASSHOPPER.

Fleet 34 consisted of 15 skippers and 12 associates this year spanning the shoreline from Niantic to Stonington, CT. Many of the members also belong to Fleet 57 at Thames Yacht Club, New London, and Fleet 73 at Niantic Bay Yacht Club. A majority of the members also belong to the ECA, and several belong to US Sailing. In summary, we had a very busy and enjoyable sailing season this year and look forward to more exciting Ensign sailing in 2012.

## Roster:

1 100101	•	
11	SWOOSE	Russ Carr
46	GIZMO	Russ Sheets
101	SECOND CHANCE	Dave Motherway
301	FIREBIRD	Michael Macina
319	TEAMWORK	Eric Jones
363	MAGIC	Robin Durrschmidt
385	BONANZA	George Bates
458	NIGHTWIND	Ward Woodruff
724	HIBERNIA	Richard Foye
819	FRIENDLY SPIRIT	Rick Conley
864	GRASSHOPPER	John Brousseau
981	SAM	Jim Anderson
1070	INDESEAS	Gene Fiese
1497	PERAGRINE	Bob & Charlie Shabunia
4000	CANC COLICI	Tad Dadean

1623 SANS SOUCI Ted Parker



Mike Macina and crew in FIREBIRD #301 take the gun in Race 2 of the Mudhead Benefit Cup. Photo by Gene Fiese.