Fleet 34 Stonington, Connecticut

Fishers Island Sound, 1965

Commodore: Russ Sheets Secretary/Treasurer: Gene Fiese

2010 Season Champions:

1st Ward Woodruff, NIGHTWIND - # 458 94 pts 2nd George Bates, BONANZA - # 385 89 pts 3rd Robin Durrschmidt, MAGIC - # 363 84 pts

The 2010 Ensign Racing Season for Fleet 34 consisted of 16 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound hosted by six local yacht clubs. In addition, four boats from Fleet 34 participated in the 2010 Region II & III Ensign Championship hosted by Fleet 67, Penobscot Bay, South Brooksville, Maine. George Bates in BONANZA won this regatta consisting of 13 Ensigns. Five members also participated in the 2010 Ensign Nation¬al Regatta hosted by Fleet 31 in Cedarville, Michigan on the waters of the Les Cheneaux Islands. Mike Macina in FIREBIRD finished 10th for the best from our fleet out of 38 Ensigns.

The Fleet 34 Early Series averaged 6.25 Ensign's per race. The Early Series was won by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (90.0 pts), followed by Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (81.2), and George Bates in BONANZA (81.0 pts). The Late Series averaged 7 boats for each race and was won by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (91.0 pts), followed closely by George Bates in BONANZA (89.2 pts), and Ted Parker in SANS SOUCI (82.8 pts). Overall Fleet 34 averaged 6.6 Ensign's per race, down



(Fleet 34 Championship Crew of Nightwind)
Photo by Gene Fiese

from 6.8 in 2009. A total of 16 different boats participated throughout the season

compared to 17 as the previous year. Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (93.5 pts), with throw-outs, won the Season Championship. Second place went to George Bates in BONANZA (88.8 pts) and third went to Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (84.2 pts). The Leuze trophy for most improved went to John Brousseau in GRASSHOPPER and the Avers Trophy for best in June went to Ward Woodruff.

John Brousseau in GRASSHOPPER won the opening race of the season, the Bob Jones Trophy Race. Team Bates in BONANZA the won the NBYC Early Bird. Ward Woodruff won the Maritime Regatta and the Masons Island Regatta. Team Bates in BONANZA finished best of two races at the Mudhead Benefit Cup and won the Ram Island Invitational as well as the Commodores Trophy Regatta. Five Ensigns participated in the end of season Bill Jones Around Fishers Island Race which as hosted by Rick and Laura Conley and won again by Rick Conley in FRIENDLY SPIRIT.

The Kyle Sheets Trophy for Outstanding Crew was awarded this year to Lisa Peringer, long time crew and foredeck person on NIGHTWIND. Fleet 34 consisted of 18 skippers this year spanning the shoreline from Niantic, CT to Westerly, RI. Many of the members also belong to Fleet 57 at Thames Yacht Club, New London, and Fleet 73 at Niantic Bay Yacht Club. A majority of the members also belong to the ECA, and several belong to US Sailing. In summary, we had a very busy and enjoyable sailing season this year and look forward to more exciting Ensign sailing in 2011.

Russ Carr

Roster:

SWOOSE

11

1.1	SVVOOOL	Nuss Call
46	GIZMO	Russ Sheets
51	YANKEE	Barry Hull
286	MUZZY	John Foster
301	FIREBIRD	John Macina and Michael Macina
319	TEAMWORK	Walter Pratt and Eric Jones
363	MAGIC	Robin Durrschmidt
385	BONANZA	George Bates
458	NIGHTWIND	Ward & Louise Woodruff
496	TAILGUNNER	Gary Woodruff
689	THE GREEN FLASH	Larry Schmitt
724	HIBERNIA	Richard Foye
819	FRIENDLY SPIRIT	Rick Conley
910	SEA NOTE	Paul Maxfield
978	HEART'N SOUL	Steve DeGraff
981	SAM	Jim Anderson
1066	FRIENDSHIP	Roy Adamson
1070	INDESEAS	Gene Fiese
1434	SLICKER	Jon Ayers
1497	PERAGRINE	Bob Shabunia and Charlie Shabunia
1602	SAGACIOUS	Bob Geary
1623	SANS SOUCI	Ted Parker