Fleet 34 Stonington, Connecticut

Fishers Island Sound, 1965

Commodore: Russ Sheets Secretary/Treasurer: Gene Fiese

2009 Season Champions:

1st Ward Woodruff, NIGHTWIND - # 458	96 pts
2 nd Rick Conley, FRIENDLY SPIRIT - # 819	90 pts
2 nd Rick Conley, FRIENDET 31 1111 1 4 100 2	2012-000
3rd Robin Durrschmidt, MAGIC - # 363	88 pts

The 2009 Ensign Racing Season for Fleet 34 consisted of 11 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound hosted by six local yacht clubs. In addition, six boats from Fleet 34 participated in the 2009 Region II & III Ensign Championship at the Wickford Yacht Club in North Kingstown, RI, and nine participated in the 2009 Ensign National Regatta hosted by Fleet 7 at Centerport and Northport Yacht Clubs, Centerport, NY. Gary Woodruff in TAILGUNNER had the best performance for our fleet, finishing 5th in this national event.

The Fleet 34 Early Series averaged 6.8 Ensigns per race. It was won by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (96 pts), followed by Rick Conley in FRIENDLY SPIRIT (89 pts) and Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (86 pts). The Late Series also averaged 6.8 boats for each race and was won by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (89 pts) followed by George Bates in BONANZA (88 pts) and Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (83 pts). Overall, Fleet 34 averaged 6.8 Ensigns per race, down from 7.0 in 2008. A total of seventeen different boats participated throughout the season, same as the previous year. Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (96 pts with throw-outs), won the Season Championship. Second place went to Rick Conley in FRIENDLY SPIRIT (90 pts) and third went to Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (88 pts). The Leuze trophy for most improved went to Rick Conley and the Ayers Trophy for best in June went to Ward Woodruff.

Gary Woodruff in TAILGUNNER won the opening race of the season, the Bob Jones Trophy Race. Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND then won the NBYC Early

Bird, the Pine Island and the Maritime Regattas. Team Bates in BONANZA won the

Mudhead Hospice Regatta. John Ayers came out of retirement and won the Ram Island Regatta in SLICKER. Mike Macina won the Commodores Trophy at Thames YC. Six boats participated in the end-of-season Bill Jones Around Fishers Island/Hospice Race hosted by John and Linda Brousseau and Rick Conley won in FRIENDLY SPIRIT.

A new trophy was awarded this year, the Kyle Sheets Trophy for Outstanding Crew. It was awarded to Bob Shabunia, longtime crew on BONANZA and currently co-owner of PEREGRINE.



Fleet 34 consisted of 24 skippers this year and 12 associate members spanning the shoreline from Niantic, CT, to Westerly,

RI. Many of the members also belong to Fleet 57 at Thames Yacht Club, New London, and Fleet 73 at Niantic Bay Yacht Club. A majority of the members also belong to the ECA, and 18 belong to US Sailing. In summary, we had a very busy and enjoyable sailing season in 2009 and look forward to more exciting Ensign sailing in 2010.

Gene Fiese

Roster:		
11	SWOOSE	Russ Carr
46	GIZMO	Russ Sheets
51	YANKEE	Katie Bradford
301	FIREBIRD	John Macina and Michael Macina
319	TEAMWORK	Walter Pratt and Eric Jones
363	MAGIC	Robin Durrschmidt
385	BONANZA	George Bates
458	NIGHTWIND	Ward & Louise Woodruff
496	TAILGUNNER	Gary Woodruff
689	THE GREEN FLASH	Larry Schmitt
724	HIBERNIA	Richard Foye
819	FRIENDLY SPIRIT	Rick Conley
910	WILKAT	Paul Grady
978	HEART'N SOUL	Steve DeGraff
981	SAM	Jim Anderson
1066	FRIENDSHIP	Roy Adamson
1070	INDESEAS	Gene Fiese
1434	SLICKER	Jon Ayers
1497	PEREGRINE	Bob Shabunia and Charlie Shabunia
1602	SAGACIOUS	Bob Geary
1623	SANS SOUCI	Ted Parker

Associates: Fred Perkins, Lorena Jones, Eric Jones Jr., Jeanne Pratt, Rusty Simon, Betty Ann Grady, Will Grady, Paul Harris, Linda Adamson, Kathy Fiese, Kris Shabunia, Mac Cooper, Bob Gibbs, Judy Gibbs