Fleet 34 Stonington, Connecticut

Fishers Island Sound, 1965

Commodore: Michael Macina Vice Commodore: Robin Durrschmidt
Treasurer: Louise Woodruff Secretary: Gene Fiese

Newsletter Editor: Robin Durrschmidt Scorer: Walter Pratt

2007 Season Champions:

1st Robin Durrschmidt, MAGIC - #363 96.5 pts
2nd Ward and Louise Woodruff, NIGHTWIND, #458 94.9 pts
3nd Team Macina, FIREBIRD, #301 85.3 pts

The 2007 Ensign Racing Season for Fleet 34 consisted of 14 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound plus one canceled race due to a time limit restriction. These races were hosted by the six local yacht clubs. In addition, twelve local boats participated in the 2007 Ensign Regional Championship hosted by Fleet 73 at Niantic Bay Yacht Club, site of the 2008 Ensign Nationals. Five of Fleet 34



Leuze Trophy presented to Walt Pratt.

Ensigns participated in the Ensign National Regatta in Barnegat Bay, NJ. Three boats also took a road trip to Bucks Harbor, Maine, to participate in their regatta July 28-29.

The Fleet 34 Early Series averaged 6.3
Ensign's per race. The Early Series was won by Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (90.9 pts) followed by Team Macina in FIREBIRD (84.2 pts) and Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (84.1 pts). The Late Series averaged 9.2 boats for each race and was won by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (87.2 pts) followed by Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (83.3) who tied with George Bates in BONANZA (83.3 pts). Six

boats participated in the Bill Jones Around Fishers Island End of Race that was won by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND.

Overall Fleet 34 averaged 8.2 Ensign's per race, up from 6.4 in 2006. A total of 14 different boats participated throughout the season, down one from the previous year. The Season Championship was won by Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (96.5 pts) followed by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (94.9 pts) and Team Macina in FIREBIRD (85.3 pts). The Bill Leuze Trophy for most improved went to Walt Pratt and Eric Jones in TEAMWORK while the Ayers Trophy for best performance in June went to Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC.

Other regatta winners this season were as follows: Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC won the Roberts S. Jones Trophy for the Memorial Day Race, the Pine Island Regatta, and the Hospice Regatta at NBYC. Mac Cooper in T.T.F.N. won the Niantic Early Bird Regatta while Team Macina in FIREBIRD won the Horton One Design Regatta. Russ Sheets in GIZMO won the Governor's Cup at Thames YC. George Bates in BONANZA won the Fishers Island YC Regatta while Gary Woodruff in TAILGUNNER won the Ram Island Invitational. Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND won the Commodore's Trophy Race at Thames YC and the Bill Jones Around the Island Race.



Bob Jones Trophy presented to Robin Durrschmidt.

Fleet 34 consisted of 21 skippers this year and 8 associate members spanning the shoreline from Niantic, CT, to Westerly, RI. Many of the members also belong to Fleet 57 at Thames Yacht Club, New London, and Fleet 73 at Niantic Bay Yacht Club. A majority of the members also belong to the ECA, and about a dozen belong to US Sailing. In summary, we had a very busy and enjoyable sailing season in 2007 and look forward to more exciting Ensign sailing in 2008.

Roste 11 46 301	er: SWOOSE GIZMO FIREBIRD TEAMWORK	Russ Carr Russ Sheets John Macina Michael Macina Walter Pratt
363 385 389 458	MAGIC BONANZA THE GREEN FLASH NIGHTWIND	Eric Jones Robin Durrschmidt George & Nancy Bates Bruce Skinner Ward Woodruff Louise Woodruff Mac Cooper Rick Conley Paul Grady Jim & Karen Anderson Roy Adamson Gene Fiese Jon Ayers Bob Geary Ted Parker
496 549 819 910 981 1066 1070 1434 1602 1632	TAILGUNNER T.T.F.N. FRIENDLY SPIRIT WILDCAT SAM FRIENDSHIP INDESEAS SLICKER SAGACIOUS CHAPTER II	

Fleet 35 Marquette, Michigan

Lake Superior, 1978

Fleet Captain: Jim Knape

Racing Honors for 2007:

Wed. Night Early Series

1st Eric Seaborg aka "Zeb" EH? - #29 2nd Jim Knape LICKETY SPLIT , #1576 3rd Neil Lynch IRISH AYES, #1643

Wed. Night Late Series

1st Eric Seaborg aka "Zeb" EH? -#29 2nd Jim Knape LICKETY SPLIT , #1576 3rd Richard Anderson TIBURON , #225

Fleet 35 had another great year of sailing on Lake Superior. Our season consisted of 14 Wednesday nights in which we had no fewer than ten boats on the line and

Sec./Treas.: Neil J. Lynch