Fleet 34 Stonington, Connecticut

Fishers Island Sound, 1965

 Commodore: Michael Macina
 Vice Commodore: Robin Durrschmidt

 Treasurer: Louise Woodruff
 Secretary: Gene Fiese

Newsletter Editor: Russ Carr

2005 Season Champions	2005	Season	Cham	pions
-----------------------	------	--------	------	-------

1 st	Ward and Louise Woodruff, NIGHTWIND - #458	91.8 pts
	2 nd Mac Cooper, T.T.F.N #549	87.7 pts
	3rd Robin Durrschmidt, MAGIC - #363	87.2 pts

The 2005 Ensign Racing Season for Fleet 34 consisted of 14 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound. These races were hosted by the seven local yacht clubs. In addition, thirteen local boats participated in the 2005 Ensign Regional Championship hosted by Fleet 73 at Niantic Bay Yacht Club in Niantic, CT. Five of Fleet 34 Ensigns also participated in the Ensign National Regatta in Nyack, New York.

The Fleet 34 Early Series averaged 6.7 Ensigns per race. The Early Series was won by Mac Cooper in *T.T.F.N.* (93.8 pts), followed by Gary Woodruff in *Tailgunner* (86.1 pts) and The Macina Family in *Firebird* (82.9 pts). The Late Series averaged 9.4 boats for each race and was won by Team Bates in *Bonanza* (90.7 pts). Second place went to Ward Woodruff in *Nightwind* (85.4 pts) followed by Robin Durrschmidt in MAGIC (81.4).

Overall Fleet 34 averaged 8.0 Ensigns per race, an increase from 7.6 in 2004. A total of 16 different boats participated throughout the season, up two from the previous year. The Season Championship was won by Ward and Louise Woodruff in *Nightwind* (91.8 pts) followed by Mac Cooper in *T.T.F.N.* (87.7 pts) and third place went to Robin Durrschmidt in *Magic* (87.2 pts). The Bill Leuze Trophy for most

improved performance over the season was awarded to Mac Cooper in *T.T.F.N.*. The Ayers Trophy, for best performance in June, was awarded to Ward Woodruff in *Nightwind*.

Other regatta winners this season were as follows. Robin Durrschmidt in *Magic* won the Robert S. Jones Trophy for the Memorial Day Race. Mac Cooper in *T.T.F.N.* won the Niantic Early Bird, Pine Island and Horton One Design regattas. Gary Woodruff in *Tailgunner* won the TYC Governor's Regatta. Ward Woodruff in *Nightwind* won the Mason's



Carolyn Leuze looks on as Mac Cooper accepts the Bill Leuze Trophy for Most Improved from Commodore John Brousseau. Photo by Michael Macina.

Island Invitational while Walter Pratt and Eric Jones won the Ram Island Invitational

in *Teamwork*. In light wind and a very foul tide, Robin Durrschmidt in *Magic* finished the Fishers Island YC Around the Island Regatta just under the time limit and won this fall classic. To finish the season, George Bates and Crew in *Bonanza* won the Commodore's Trophy race at Thames Yacht Club.

Fleet 34 consisted of 13 skippers this year spanning the shoreline from Niantic, CT, to Westerly, RI. Many of the members also belong to Fleet 57 at Thames Yacht Club, New London, and Fleet 73 at Niantic Bay Yacht Club. A majority of the members also belong to the ECA, and are listed in the Fleet 57 and Fleet 73 as ECA members if not listed here, and about a dozen



Ward Woodruff (left) of Nightwind accepts the Fleet 34 Season Championship trophies from Commodore John Brousseau. Photo by Michael Macina.

belong to US Sailing. In summary, we had a very busy and enjoyable sailing season in 2005 and look forward to more exciting sailing in 2006.

Roster:		
11	SWOOSE	Russ Carr
301	FIREBIRD	John Macina
319	TEAMWORK	Walter & Jeanne Pratt
		Eric & Lorena Jones
363	MAGIC	Robin Durrschmidt
385	BONANZA	George Bates
458	NIGHTWIND	Ward Woodruff
473	AIRBORNE	Mark Steinmetz
496	TAILGUNNER	Gary Woodruff
549	T.T.E.N.	Mac Cooper
724	HIBERNIA	Rich Foye
981	SAM	Jim & Karen Anderson
1070	INDESEAS	Gene Fiese
1602	SAGACIOUS	Bob Geary
1731	STRIDER	Bob & Judy Gibbs

ECA Members:

Jim Anderson, George Bates, John Brousseau, Greg Buxton, Russ Carr, Mac Cooper, Robin Durrschmidt, Gene Fiese, Bob Geary, Judy and Robert Gibbs, Tom Groark, Jr., Eric Jones, Greg Lukowski, John Macina, Mike Macina, Walt Pratt, Mark Steinmetz, Ward Woodruff, Gary Woodruff

ECA Associates:

Benjamin Carpenter, Karen Collier, Laura Conley, Jerry Daly, Rick Diachenko, Kathy Fiese, Dick Fraser, Virginia Groark, Laura Hall, Kathleen Jenkins, Tom Layton, Chris Macina, Melissa Madaus, Lisa Peringer, William Sebastyen, George Wiederman