Fleet 34. Stonington, Connecticut

Fishers Island Sound, 1965

Commodore: Eric Jones Vice Commodore: John Brousseau

Treasurer: Ted Parker Secretary: Gene Fiese

Newsletter Editor: Russ Carr

2002 Season Champions:

1st Ward, Gary and Louise Woodruff, NIGHTWIND - #458 95.53 pts
2nd Bob and Lois Geary, SAGACIOUS - #1602 95.50 pts
3nd George and Nancy Bates, BONANZA - #385 90.95 pts

The 2002 Ensign Racing Season for Fleet 34 consisted of 15 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound. These races were hosted by the seven local yacht clubs. In addition, 11 local boats participated in the 2002 Ensign Regional Championship for Regions II & III in Niantic, CT. Four Fleet 34 Ensigns also par-



ticipated in the Ensign National Regatta at Toms River YC in Barnegat Bay, NJ. At season's end, the Hospice Regatta and the Fleet 34 Round the Island Race for the Bill Jones Trophy were combined for the last race of the Season around Fisher's Island on September 21st. The awards dinner was held in the fall at the home of George and Nancy Bates.

The Fleet 34 Early Series averaged 7.0 Ensigns per race and was won by Bob Geary in SAGACIOUS (96.6 pts), followed by Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (91.5 pts), and Team Macina in FIREBIRD (87.1 pts). The Late Series averaged only 6.3 boats for each race and was won by Team Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (95.6 pts), followed by George and Nancy Bates in BONANZA (92.1 pts), and Bob and Lois Geary in SAGACIOUS (91.7 pts).

Overall the fleet averaged 6.7 Ensigns per race and 21 different boats participated throughout the season, up from 19 in 2001. The Season Championship was won by Ward, Gray, and Louise Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (95.53 pts) while second place went to Bob and Lois Geary in SAGACIOUS (95.50 pts) in one of the closest season championships ever. Third place for the season went to George and Nancy Bates in BONANZA (90.96 pts). The Season Championship Scoring System allows throw-outs for frequent racers. The Alice Ayers Trophy for best performance in June went to George and Nancy Bates in BONANZA. The Bill Leuze Trophy for most improved performance over the season was not awarded this year as no one was eligible.

Other award/regatta winners this season were as follows: Bob Geary in SA-GACIOUS won the Roberts S. Jones Trophy for the Memorial Day Race, while Russ Carr in SWOOSE won the Governor's Regatta hosted by Thames YC. The Macina Boys in FIREBIRD won the Horton One Design, George Bates in BO-NANZA won the Niantic Early Bird Regatta, the Fuller-Wadawanuck Invitational and the Ram Island YC Invitational. The Woodruff Team in NIGHTWIND picked up the rest of the hardware at Pine Island, the Masons Island Invitational and the Fishers Island Race and the Ensign ECSA Trophy. The Thames Commodores Trophy Race was canceled after a long windless day with building current. The Hospice Regatta/Bill Jones Round the Island Race at the end of the season was won by George Bates in BONANZA.

Fleet 34 consists of 20 skippers and 15 associates spanning the shoreline from Niantic, CT, to Westerly, RI. Many of the members also belong to Fleet 57 at Thames Yacht Club, New London, and the new Fleet 73 at Niantic Bay Yacht Club. Many of the members also belong to the ECA and US Sailing. In summary, we had a very busy and enjoyable sailing season in 2002 and look forward to more exciting sailing in 2003.

Roster:

11	SWOOSE	Russ Carr
194	JULIE ANN	Jack Maisch
301	FIREBIRD	John Macina
319	TEAMWORK	Walter & Jeanne Pratt
		Eric & Lorena Jones
385	BONANZA	George Bates
458	NIGHTWIND	Ward & Louise Woodruff
473	AIRBORNE	Mark Steinmetz
549	T.T.F.N.	Mac Cooper
724	HIBERNIA	Rich & Delia Foye
819	FRIENDLY SPIRIT	Patrick Conley
981	SAM	Jim & Karen Anderson
1021	DEO GRATIAS	Annette Hall & Page Rogers
1046	WHITE CLOUD	Louis Fehrenbach

1070 **INDESEAS** Gene Fiese FEARLESS JOY 1334 Christina Dominijanni 1534 WILLIWAW Ted Parker SAGACIOUS 1602 Bob Geary Associates: Katie Bradford, Ben Carpenter, Gerald Daly, Emily Fiese, Lois Geary, Doug Hanna, Gary Hartley, Eric Jones, Jr., Chris Macina, Michael Macina, Phil Michalowski, Jeanne Pratt, Beth Reeves, Ken Scott, Bob Shabunia