## Fleet 34. Stonington, Connecticut

Fishers Island Sound, 1965

*Commodore:* Ward Woodruff *Treasurer:* Ted Parker *Newsletter Editor:* Robin Durrschmidt *Vice Commodore:* Eric Jones *Secretary:* Gene Fiese

2000 Season Champions:

1st Ward, Gary and Louise Woodruff, NIGHTWIND - #458	96.3 pts
2 <sup>nd</sup> George and Nancy Bates, BONANZA - #385	92.0 pts
3rd Robin Durrschmidt, Mr. FRISKY - # 363	87.4 pts

The 2000 Ensign racing season for Fleet 34 consisted of 13 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound with one around Fisher's Island Race declared a no race due to a lack of wind. These races were hosted by the eight local yacht clubs. In addition, the 2000 Ensign Regional Championship for Regions II & III was hosted by Fleet 57, Thames Yacht Club in New London, with nine local boats and one from Narragansett Bay participating in the five race-two day competition. Six of Fleet 34 Ensigns also participated in the Ensign National Regatta at Canadaigua Lake, New York. At season's end, the Hospice Regatta and the Bill Jones Round the Island race was combined for the last race of the Season around Fisher's Island on September 23rd, and the weather as well as the tides were perfect for the eight racing Ensign's.

The Fleet 34 Early Series averaged 6.4 Ensign's per race and was won by the Woodruffs in NIGHTWIND (90.8 pts), followed by Bob Jones in FLYING HIGH (87.8 pts), and Robin Durrschmidt in Mr. FRISKY (87.3 pts). The Late Series averaged 9.8 boats for each race and this too was won by the untouchable Woodruffs in NIGHTWIND (98.8 pts), followed by George Bates in BONANZA (90.5 pts), and Rick Conley in FRIENDLY SPIRIT (90.4 pts).

Overall the fleet averaged 8.0 Ensign's per race and 18 different boats participated throughout the season. The Season Championship was won by Ward, Gary, and Louise Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (96.3 pts). Second place went to George Bates in BONANZA (92.0 pts), and third place went to Robin Durrschmidt in Mr. FRISKY (90.4 pts). The Season Championship Scoring System allows throw-outs for frequent racers. The Alice Ayers Trophy for best performance in June went to Gene Fiese in INDESEAS. The Bill Leuze Trophy for most improved performance over the season went to Eric Jones and Walter Pratt in TEAMWORK.

Other award/regatta winners this season were as follows: Ward & Gary Woodruff in NIGHTWIND won the Roberts S. Jones Trophy for the Memorial Day Race, while Ben Carpenter in SARI won the Pre-Off Soundings Race. George Bates in BONANZA won the Horton One Design Race and the Ram Island YC Invitational. The untouchable Woodruff Team won all the rest: the Governor's Regatta hosted by Thames YC, the Fuller-Wadawanuck Invitational, the Masons Island YC-Mudhead's Invitational, as well as the Ensign Class in the HOSPICE Regatta/Bill Jones Round the Island Race at the end of the season. Mac Cooper in T.T.F.N. won the Wadawannuck-Watch Hill YC Invitational. The tide won the Fishers Island YC around the Island Race on Sept. 2nd.

Fleet 34 consists of 30 skippers and 20 associates spanning the shoreline from Niantic, CT, to Westerly, RI. Many of the members also belong to Fleet 57 at Thames Yacht Club, New London. Twenty-two of the members also belong to the ECA and 12 belong to US Sailing. In summary, we had a very busy and enjoyable sailing season in 2000 and look forward to more exciting sailing in 2001.

## Roster:

nusier.		
11	SWOOSE	Russ Carr
101	GARRYVOE	David Motherway
194	JULIE ANN	Jack Maisch
301	FIREBIRD	John Macina
319	TEAMWORK	Walter Pratt, Eric Jones
363	Mr. FRISKY	Robin Durrschmidt
385	BONANZA	George Bates
458	NIGHTWIND	Ward Woodruff
549	T.T.F.N.	Mac Cooper
680	THELMA	Gary P. Bennett
724	HIBERNIA	Rich Foye
819	FRIENDLY SPIRIT	Patrick Conley
864	GRASSHOPPER	John Brousseau
981	SAM	Jim Anderson
1020	PENDRAGON	Morgan St. John
1021	MOONAKIS II	Nancy Gibson
1046	WHITE CLOUD	Louis Fehrenbach
1048	FLYING HIGH	Bob Jones
1070	INDESEAS	Gene Fiese
1154	SHINING BLUE	Rick Novakowski
1227	SABRINA	Dr. Bill Jones
1299	WINDFALL	Robert Schmidt
1348	MARANA	Jennifer Pratt
1411	CLIFFHANGER	Cliff Parish

1534	WILLIWAW	Ted Parker
1602	SAGACIOUS	Bob Geary
1703	OPHIR	Colin Revill
1729	VIM	Greg Lukowski
1731	SARI	Ben Carpenter

## Associates:

Carl Anderson, Karen Collier, Jerry Daly, Eric Durrschmidt, Emily Fiese, Lois Geary, Gary Hartley, Beth Kenyon, Charles Link, Chris Macina, Michael Macina, Jeane Pratt, Beth & Dale Reeves, Robert Scala, Ken Scott, Bob Shabunia, John Stainer, Erika Taylor, Louise Woodruff

The traveling trophy for Fleet 34 Season Championship went to Ward Woodruff (left) skipper of NIGHTWIND #458 and son Gary Woodruff, crewman exceptional. (Photo by Gene Fiese, Fleet 34.)





Carolyn Leuze (right) presents the Leuze trophy for most improved performance for the 2000 season to Walter Pratt (center) and Vice Commodore Eric Jones of the good ship TEAMWORK. (Photo by Gene Fiese, Fleet 34.)