

The Fleet 34 Season Championship went to Ward Woodruff (center) skipper of NIGHTWIND #458. Commodore Bob Geary (right) and Secretary Gene Fiese present the Championship trophy. Photo by Kevin Shenk



Russ Carr receives the Leuze Trophy from Commodore Bob Geary.

FLEET 34. Stonington, CT.

Fishers Island Sound 1965

Commodore: Bob Geary, Vice Com. and Treasurer: Ted Parker, Secretary: Gene Fiese, Newsletter Editor: Robin Durrschmidt

1999 Season Champions:

- 1. Ward and Louise Woodruff, NIGHTWIND #458 93.8 pts
 - 2. George and Nancy Bates, BONANZA #385 92.2 pts
 - 3. Bob and Lois Geary, SAGACIOUS # 1602 91.2 pts

The 1999 Ensign racing season for Fleet 34 consisted of 16 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound. These races were hosted by the seven local yacht clubs. In addition, the 1999 Ensign National Championship was hosted by Fleet 34 and held at Niantic Bay Yacht Club with 43 boats in the competition.

The Fleet 34 Early Series averaged 7.6 Ensign's per race and was won by The Woodruffs in NIGHTWIND (92.6 pts.), followed by The Geary's in SAGACIOUS (89.8 pts), and Robin Durrschmidt in Mr. FRISKY (89.4 pts). The Late Series averaged 9.0 boats for each race and was won by The Woodruffs in NIGHTWIND (90.9 pts), followed by George Bates in BONANZA (90.7 pts), and Bob Geary in SAGACIOUS (89.9 pts).

Overall the fleet averaged 8.3 Ensign's per race and 19 different boats participated throughout the season. The Season Championship was won by Ward and Louise Woodruff in NIGHTWIND (93.8 pts). Second place went to George Bates in BONANZA (92.2 pts), and third place went to Bob Geary in SAGACIOUS (91.2 pts). The Season Championship Scoring System allows throw-outs for frequent racers.

The Alice Ayers Trophy for best performance in June went to Robin Durrschmidt in Mr. FRISKY. The Bill Leuze Trophy for most improved performance over the season went to Russ Carr in SWOOSE.

Other award/regatta winners this season were as follows: Robin Durrschmidt in Mr. FRISKY won the Roberts S. Jones Trophy for the Memorial Day Race, while John Macina & Family in La CHIC won the Horton One Design Race and the Masons Island YC Invitational. Commodore Bob Geary in SAGACIOUS won the Governor's Regatta as well as the Ensign Class in the HOSPICE Regatta/Round the Island Race at the end of the season. Mac Cooper in T.T.F.N. won the Wadawannuck/Watch Hill YC Invitational, while George Bates in BONANZA won the Ram Island YC Invitational and the Commodore's Trophy Race at Thames Yacht Club. This was BONANZA's ninth first place finish in the Commodore's Race. Team Woodruff in NIGHTWIND won both the Mud Head Regatta and the Fishers Island YC Around the Island Race.

In late June, the Region II and III Ensign Regional Championship was held in Newport. Four boats from Fleet 34 participated and finished second through fifth: SAGACOUS, TEAMWORK, SWOOSE, and FLYING HIGH respectively. The 1999 Ensign National Championship Regatta was held at Niantic Bay Yacht Club and fifteen boats from Fleet 34 participated, Ward Woodruff in NIGHTWIND was the top finisher for Fleet 34 with fifth place.

Fleet 34 consists of 29 skippers and 18 associates spanning the shoreline from Niantic, CT, to Westerly, RI. Many of the members also belong to Fleet 57

at Thames Yacht Club, New London. 21 of the members also belong to the ECA and 14 belong to US Sailing. In summary, we had a very busy and enjoyable sailing season in 1999 and look forward to the new millennium for more exciting sailing.

Roster:

ioster.		
11	SWOOSE	Russ Carr
46	GIZMO	Russ Sheets
51	YANKEE	Carolyn Leuze
101	GARRYVOE	David Motherway
194	JULIE ANN	ack Maisch
319	TEAMWORK	Walter Pratt &
		Eric Jones
363	MR. FRISKY	Robin Durrschmidt
358	BONANZA	George Bates
458	NIGHTWIND	Ward Woodruff
549	T.T.F.N.	Mac Cooper
680	THELMA	Gary P. Bennett
864	GRASSHOPPER	John Brousseau
981	SAM	Jim Anderson
1021	MOONAKIS II	Nancy Gibson
1046	WHITE CLOUD	Louis Fehrenbach
1048	FLYING HIGH	Bob Jones
1070	INDESEAS	Gene Fiese
1154	SHINING BLUE	Rick Novakowski
1218	MIDNIGHT	Chris McLaughlin
1227	SABRIN	Dr. Bill Jones
1335	HYDRA	Tom Groark
1348	MARANA	Jennifer Pratt
1411	CLIFFHANGE	H. Clifford Parris
1534	WILLIWAW	Ted Parker
1602	SAGACIOUS	Bob Geary
1703	OPHIR	Colin Revill
1729	VIM	Greg Lukowski
1731	SARI	Ben Carpenter
Acconiator:		

Associates:

Carl Anderson, Jerry Daly, Eric Durrschmidt, Edie Evans, Emily Fiese, Gary Hartley, Charles Link, Chris Macina, Michael Macina, Phil Michalowski, Jeane Pratt, Beth & Dale Reeves, Robert Scala, Ken Scott, Bob Shabunia, John Stainer, Erika Taylor, Louise Woodruff, Dick Fraser, Louis Geary, Tom Layton, Douglas McDonald, John Stainer, George Wiederman.



John Macina, #812 La Chic, telling about the demise of it in hurricane Floyd.



Louise Woodruff And CASH !!!!!!



THE FAMILY BOAT WITH THE YOUNGEST CREW # 549, TTFN, Fleet 34 in the 1999 Nationals on Niantic Bay. The Coopers Mac, Mary, Lindsay (9) and Kirsten (11).

