## 1997 Ensign Class Association Yearbook

## Stonington, Connecticut Fishers Island Sound 1965

## **OFFICERS**

Commodore Vice Commodore Secretary/Treasurer/Scorer Robin Durrschmidt Gene Fiese

Greg Lukowski

George Bates, BONANZA - 385 1996 Season

Bob Geary, SAGACIOUS - 1602

Ward Woodruff, NIGHTWIND - 458

"Three Decades Pursuing Happiness" is the important 38 page history of Ensign racing in SE Connecticut, documenting the Ensign experience for us. The principal author is Jerry Daly with photos by Carl Anderson.

1996 season highlights consist of: the incredible collection of bullets by BONANZA; Fleet 34 hosting the Regionals at Mason's Island YC (featuring a full spectrum of New England weather over two days and won by Charlie Shoemaker from Fleet 5 in CHALLENGER); the cocktail party and parade from Mystic Seaport; and the arrival of (them kids) LOHM from the Coast Guard Academy (USCGA) on our starting line.



George Bates of BONANZA (385) beams with pride as he receives the Fleet 34 Season Championship Trophy at the year-end awards dinner.

Fleet 34 consists of 33 skippers and 18 associates spanning the shoreline from Niantic to Stonington, CT. Many of the members are also members of Fleet 57 at Thames Yacht Club, New London. 23 of the members also belong to the ECA and 13 belong to US Sailing. In summary, a great time was had in 1996 and we look forward to an even better fog-less Ensign racing season in 1997.

The 1996 Ensign Fleet 34 racing season had 13 races in Fishers Island Sound and Long Island Sound, plus four other races lost in the fog. Overall the fleet averaged 10.4 Ensign's per race. 23 different boats participated throughout the season.

The season championship was won by Team Bates in BONANZA (385) with 98.9 points collecting eight first place finishes during the 13 race season. Second place went to Bob Geary and Crew in SAGACIOUS (1602) with 93.6 points. Third place went to the Woodruff Family in NIGHTWIND (458) with 91.0 points.

The Early Series in June averaged 9.2 Ensign's per race and was won by George Bates in BONANZA (385) with 97.9 points, followed by Bob Geary in SAGACIOUS (1602) with 89.3 points, and the Woodruff's in NIGHTWIND (458) with 88.1 points.

The Late Series in September averaged 11.4 boats for each race and was won by Bob Geary in SAGACIOUS (1602) with 95.5 points, followed by George Bates in BONANZA (385) with 94.6 points, and the venerable Bob Jones in FLYING HIGH (1058) with 84.3 points.

The Alice Ayers Trophy for best performance in June again went to Ben Carpenter in SARI (1731) while the Bill Leuze Trophy for most improved performance went to Gene Fiese in INDESEAS (1070).

Other award/regatta winners this season were: Bob Geary in SAGACIOUS (1602) for the Robert Jones Trophy Race on Memorial Day; George Bates in BONANZA (385) for the Wadawanuck Invitational; Stearns Martin in NUMERO UNO for the Horton One-Design Race hosted by the Watch Hill Yacht Club; Bob Geary in SAGACIOUS (1602) won the Governor's Regatta hosted by Thames Yacht Club; the Woodruff Family in NIGHTWIND (458) won the Mason's Island Invitational before departing for the Nationals in Mentor Harbor, Ohio. Team Bates in BONANZA (385) then won the Ram Island YC Invitational, the Fishers Island YC Race, and the Commodores Trophy Race at Thames YC. The Woodruff Family returned to win the Fleet 34 1996 Round the Island Race in NIGHTWIND. This race was followed by a fabulous party at the home of Bob and Lois Geary, winners of the 1995 Round the Island Race (goes with the trophy).

Roster		
46	GIZMO	RUSSELL SHEETS
101	GARRYVOE	DAVID L. MOTHERWAY
144	EMI-JO	JOHN MOUGHTY JR.
194	JULIE ANN	JOHN W. MAISCH
200	LOHM	CLARENCE BEAUDOIN
207	RESOLUTE	PATRICK HYNES
286	CYRANO	WILLIAM E. ATTWOOD
363	MR. FRISKY	ROBIN DURRSCHMIDT
385	BONANZA	GEORGE P. BATES
458	NIGHT WIND	WARD WOODRUFF
620	DOVE	TED PARKER
675	ORACLE	RICHARD TABER
680	ALLEGRO	CHRIS DANIELS
689	AMAIN	DR.DOROTHY WINDHORST
724	HIBERNIA	RICHARD FOYE
812	LA CHIC	JOHN P MACINA
819	FREINDLY SPIRIT	RICK CONLEY
823	ROMANCE	GERALD R. DALY
1021		NANCY H. GIBSON
1046	WHITE CLOUD	LOUIS FEHRENBACH
1048	FLYING HIGH	ROBERT S. JONES
1070	INDESEAS	EUGENE FIESE
1126		JOHN D. HARRINGTON
1218		CHRIS MCLAUGHLIN
1227		DR. BILL JONES
1299		ROBERT B SCHMIDT
1335	HYDRA	TOM GROARK JR
1348		DENNY SMITH
1411		H CLIFFORD PARRIS
1434		JON AYERS
1602		BOB GEARY
1703 1729	27E27 (0.5Ne. 0)	COLIN REVILL DR. GREG LUKOWSKI
	SARI	BENJAMIN CARPENTER
	CIATE MEMBERS:	SID SPEED, ERIC DURRSCHMIDT, BETH WILLCOX,
ASSOCIATE MEMBERS.		DR. DICK FRASER, ANDY STODDARD,
		LOUISE WOODRUFF
		LOUISE WOODROTT